• Blog

    The Art of Judging and Critiquing

    Scarlett ran this article a year ago, but feels compelled to post it again. The examples are a little outdated, but nonetheless, pertinent to judging entries in TARA’s Contest or critiquing someone’s work. This article, Bleeecchh…Critiquing, by Kristan Higgins, first appeared in CONNECTIONS, April 2007 edition, Connecticut RWA.    The Art of Critiquing Party time! Now you get to be God. Okay, well, God-ish, let’s say. You get to tell the author what’s wrong, and you’re going to be right. Let’s face it — you’re smart, you’re kind, you know books. You rock. You love thinking about (bleeecccch) plot, character development, voice, pacing, dialogue and yes, even grammar. You have…

  • Members Only

    Leadership Contacts

    Mailing address: TARA, P O Box 443, Plant City, FL 33564 Position Officer Contact Book Challenge Muriel Yantiss bookchallenge@tararwa.com Book Library Chloe Grimes booklibrarian@tararwa.com Communications Darice Moore communications@tararwa.com Contest Karen Fleming contest@tararwa.com Creative Development Anne-Marie Carroll development@tararwa.com Critique / Beta / Mentor Karen Lingefelt critique@tararwa.com Media Library Jan Sarver medialibrarian@tararwa.com Membership Renee Nelson membership@tararwa.com Past President Karen Fleming pastpresident@tararwa.com President Connie Taxdal president@tararwa.com Programs Carol Post programs@tararwa.com Push to Pub / RWA PRO Lori Sanders Foley pushtopub@tararwa.com RWA PAN Karen Fleming panliaison@tararwa.com Scarlett Letter Blog Darice Moore blog@tararwa.com Secretary Renee Nelson secretary@tararwa.com Special Events   events@tararwa.com Treasurer Katie Asher treasurer@tararwa.com Write Reward$ Carol Post writerewards@tararwa.com  

  • Contest

    TARA Category Descriptions

    Category Romance (also known as Series Contemporary) (40,000 – 70,000 words) Manuscripts set from 1950 to the present that are part of a series of books. Category romances are shorter than the typical contemporary romance. Like other types of romances, they can be dramatic, humorous, sexy, or mysterious. The love story is the main focus of the manuscript. Though the romance doesn’t have to include an intensely physical relationship, it should have good emotional conflict and a satisfying and optimistic resolution. Contemporary Single Title Romance (70,000 words and up) This category is a longer novel set from 1950 to the present and is generally sold as a standalone title. The…

  • Meetings

    June 11, 2016, Lori Sanders Foley

    Want more drama in your writing? Lori Sanders Foley tells us how in our morning and afternoon sessions! Morning Session:  Save Your Drama for the Page!  A Thespian’s guide to characterization and portrayal.  There’s more to character than hair and clothes. Afternoon session:   Prompt Service~guidance for writing prompts and for writing one’s self out of block and boredom.  Tricks for pushing through the barren land of “where do I go from here? When Lori stepped into her first Tampa Area Romance Authors meeting in 2001, she found herself in a wonderland of ideas, of intellect, of passion, and decided to stay. She won the TARA Contest for writers in 2003,…